Many consumers have food allergies, that is why a gluten-free has come to the forefront recently. This is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in many types of wheat; kamut, spelt, barley, rye and triticale. Being gluten intolerant can often mean a person may also be wheat intolerant as well.
A gluten free diet is used to treat celiac disease. Gluten can inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease and following a diet plan free of gluten helps people with celiac disease control their symptoms and prevent complications.
A gluten-free diet might also exclude oats because they become cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other grains. Oats may also be contaminated when grown in rotation with wheat The term gluten-free generally is used to indicate a supposedly harmless level of gluten rather than a complete absence.
Regulation of products labeled gluten-free varies widely by country but in the US, the FDA issued proposed regulations in 2007 limiting the use of term "gluten-free" in food products to those with less than 20 parts per million of gluten.